OrbShield kits...

SpaceOrb drivers and software discussions
Forum rules
vputz

OrbShield kits...

Postby vputz » November 14 2009, 7:14 AM

I know the subject is mostly dead, but I did manage to get Seeed to put together a number of kits with all the needed parts to make shields. They're at [url]http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/orbshield-v10-kit-p-545.html[/url], and to my surprise two people have bought them. I bought a third one and tested it--works just fine. Hopefully they'll be of use to folks!

flauzus

Re: OrbShield kits...

Postby flauzus » January 06 2010, 12:10 PM

Hi Victor.

I’m new to this forum and not a SpaceOrb user but was considering getting one. I found this posting while I was looking into available SpaceOrb support. I am a 3D CAD/CAM professional who has been using Spaceballs for over 10 years. I am also a gamer with my games of choice being the Descent series with 6 degrees of freedom. For years I have wished for the ability to use a Spaceball with Descent. If I understand the info on the linked page correctly the OrbShield will allow me to do this with a serial Spaceball 4000. I saw in one of your posts that you feel “the desk-mounted Spaceball devices, which are turning out to be even better gaming devices than the orb”.

This is a dream come true. (I am practically drooling on my keyboard thinking about this.) Thanks for all your hard work on this project, truly amazing. :D

Are all the necessary instructions provided with the Orbshield kit such as board assembly, which Arduino board to buy, what software is required and how to configure a Spaceball as a game controller?

Thanks again.

vputz

Postby vputz » January 28 2010, 19:17 PM

Weird, board ate my replies! Short form: yes, works with D2X, just played some Descent 2 via Orb 4000; send me a message if you want more info! Sorry, not bothering to retype all in case it eats my message again.

jaycrowe

Postby jaycrowe » January 28 2010, 21:00 PM